Book Lovers Tag

Hello all!

I saw this post on Ritu‘s blog and it’s applicable to me, and I’m participating! (Hi Ritu! It’s Leanne from Elle’s Adventure in China! Read and Write Here is for all my random writings.)

Image result for book lovers tag
Book Lovers Tag Image

Do you have a specific place for reading?

I read where it’s still – sofa, bed, waiting room, classroom, etc.  If I read on moving cars, I’ll get a headache.  Found out that occurs because your eyes are reading left to right while you’re moving forward, so the directional differences make your brain confused and gives you a headache.  It affects some people and not others.

Bookmarks or random pieces of paper?

I use everything.  I’m a crafty person so I’ll make my own bookmarks, but I’m a sporadic reader and start multiple books and never finish some, so I’ll lose bookmarks anyway.  I’ll take random pieces of paper.  But if there’s no random piece of paper around, I’ll fold a corner.

Can you just stop anywhere or must it be at the end of the chapter?

Response is from Ritu, and I also do this!

I definitely prefer to stop at the end of a chapter, but if I have to, I try to find a natural break… unless I am tired and I fall asleep mid page!

Do you eat or drink while reading?

I try not to.  When I was an undergrad, that’s what I had to do, and I didn’t like it.  I find that I don’t retain as much info. by eating or drinking while reading.  Water break is A-OK!

Music or TV while reading?

Neither.  I prefer to read in silence.  I’d get too distracted with both on.

One book at a time or several?

Sometimes 1 book at a time; sometimes multiple books and I’ll forget I started them, but usually it’s because I’m too busy, so I neglect them.

Do you prefer to read at home or elsewhere?

I’m fine with reading at home and other places.  Just be still!

Read out loudly or silently?

Both! If the part demands reading out loud, it’ll be read out loud.  Sometimes I read out loud because I want to hear myself register what I’m reading, but  mostly, I’m silent.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

No reading ahead or skipping pages.  It’s not allowed in my book *ba dum dum*

I’ve had students say they find out what happens so they don’t get attached to certain characters who die.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I try to preserve the book.  Some books need their spines flexible.

Do you write in your books?

Yes! I talk, question, and predict in my books with pens.

If you happen to read this post, you’re nominated! Please link back to my blog so I can read your answers!

One thought on “Book Lovers Tag

Leave a Reply

