Can You Hear Me?

I scream into my pillow

And nothing.

I go to the corner store and scream to the neighborhood at midnight

A few dogs howled.

I took pills and called 911

Sirens came to my house.

I go to a mountain’s peak and scream to the world below

Not an echo but an avalanche.

A hiker tapped me on the shoulder and asked, “Are you OK?”

“I, I just want to be heard.”

“You can talk to your friends, relatives, a therapist, a counselor, your pet, your coworkers, to strangers on the internet, and strangers in town. ┬áNo need to come all the way up here where only me and my dog live.”

Leave a Reply

