End of the School Year

I was super excited that the school year was ending because I was exhausted.

I knew the last day was yesterday; I ordered my classes to have a good summer.  I just didn’t mean it.  I don’t wish them to not enjoy their summer; I felt like I was going to see them again today.  I mean, it’s mid-morning on Wednesday.

Guess what I did this morning.  Woke up at 7am (instead of 5am and already being in my classroom), ate breakfast, and did chores.

I went to my classroom a couple of hours later to double-check my kids’ grades before I submit everything to admin., and the classroom was filled with empty seats.  I’m really not going to see my kids anymore.  I didn’t hug any of my fellow teachers goodbye (though, they were busy with graduation), just, there were those who helped me, some would counsel me because of the high-stress nature of the job, and some listened to me complain about my kids who wouldn’t do anything and my futile attempts of having parents/guardians involved (I’m like, don’t they want their child to pass the class, and therefore, leads them to graduate high school?).

My empty classroom is so strange and I miss my kids so much.

One thought on “End of the School Year

  1. Reaching the end of the year is one of the best feelings ever! Time off from study and work is needed! Also, this is a really interesting take on today’s prompt word. 🙂
    Great work. I published a post on the ‘is the glass half empty or half full’ debate. Would love for you to check it out! https://cultureeighteen.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

