Next Moves

An hour after school, Sally sees Richard still doing errands and visiting his colleagues and friends since he moved classrooms across campus.Sally knew she had plenty to do, despite being exhausted, she still endured to meet the deadline.  Sally was at her desk typing away when she noticed someone familiar at the corner of her eye.

It was Richard.  He walked up the ramp to her classroom.

“Hey,” he said.

“Hey,” she said.

“How are you doing?” he asked.  Everyone is ready for the school year to end.  The teachers are more excited than the students, despite all students’ resistance to do work.

She got up from her seat, walked to him, and gave him a hug.  She leaned her head on his chest, “I told you you were tall,” she said quietly.

He smiled and hugged her back.

“What are you doing?” she quietly questioned him.  “You said you weren’t a huggy-person.”

“I’m making an exception,” he responded quietly.

“You smell like nothing,” she said with a slight smile.

He smiled, too.

She kept her hands on his back while leaning back to see him.  “I thought you were an attractive 35-year-old when I first met you.”

He laughed, but it was a comment he had heard many times before.  Though, the attractiveness  was less common.

“I was waiting for you to ask me out.  Why do you think I kept hanging around you, flipping my hair, looking at you, smiling, sitting across from you, you know, all of the signs.”

His face turned an interesting look, like a secret was being revealed and that was only one coin from the treasure chest.

“You didn’t, even when you knew we would split after that.  Maybe that’s why you didn’t ask, because you didn’t think you would ever see me again.  You were really surprised when I got here.  I remember your look when I emerged from the classroom.  You were so entranced in the conversation with the other teacher, and chilling, leaning against the post, and I came out.  Your eyebrows were up so high, you looked like you saw a celebrity just walking by.”  She smiled reminiscing while he hung onto her every word and every expression.

“I remember on one of the first days that I was there and you were there.  It was so strange.  You were taking things to your classroom and I asked if you were going to get your fan.  Those September days were sooooooo hot.  You looked at the fan like you didn’t recognize it, then said, ‘Oh yeah!'” She smiled.

“I remember when you kept coming to my classroom and hanging around, and trying to converse with me, someone you don’t know.  I appreciate that you tried so much.  I’m socially awkward so any help is helpful.  I’m sorry for not being able to hold my end of the conversation.”

Sally sighed.  “I think this will be the last time I see you.”

“We still have a week.”

“Yup.  I’ll see you for five more days, and then…”

“Yeah…I won’t see you anymore.”

“You can text, call, and email me.  You have all of those info. of mines.  If I want your thoughts on anything, I’ll send an email; I might not hear back from you for a week or more if I text or call you.”

They both laughed.

She hugged him again, and he hugged her back.  She let go and waved good-bye as she said, “See you around.”

Leave a Reply

