Wonderful Day

Today is Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2015.  It’s close to the Winter Break that my school will be having.  Some of my students are sick, some are exuberant, and a few are lethargic.  I feel a little sick myself with all my assignments needing to be due very soon.  Those lethargic students, well…let’s skip them since I want to focus on the wonderful day I had so far.

First, a great but under-achieving student, helped me technologically, twice! First was during passing period.  We are doing student presentations and a student presenter for that day sent me a video to her presentation.  She had trouble with it and so did I trying to open it.  This under-achieving student helped me and it worked.  He even knew which video program the video will open in, so yeah.

Toward the end of class, I would write the names of the presenters for the next day and the pen for the P. Board wasn’t working.  (Secret: either the chord to the board wasn’t plugged into the computer or the pen icon wasn’t clicked on).  The under-achieving student came to the computer and pushed the red button on the side and pulled out a stylus.  “You can write on it,” he said as he scribbled on the laptop screen.  I was so happy and thankful that it worked, and I acted like it was the coolest thing I ever saw, which at that moment, was.

[Tiny update: today (Dec. 16) the same under-achieving student told me about the HDMI cable to stream movies and stuff, whatever that means.  He was making fun of me with, “how do you not know this?” “I’m poor,” I replied.  “Don’t you have a TV?” like it’s the most ridiculous thing he’d ever heard.  You hear these younglings?]

My wonderful day also has to do with one of my exuberant students.  She’s one of the top students, an AP student, a motivated student.  Toward the middle of class today, I was trying to begin an educational holiday film by waiting for my class to quiet down, as in silence.  I’m waiting and waiting, and when they’re almost quiet, the student I was talking about in my second sentence of this paragraph asked me if I wanted a token of appreciation.

I was taken aback because it appeared that none of my students had really thought about me outside of class.  I mean, I didn’t assign any real homework except for the project that they are now presenting on symbolic communication/creativity, so there’s no reason to think about my class.  Anyway, I asked the student “Really?” like she was playing me.  I approached her and she took out a tungsten-colored plastic coin with a hand cut out of it, and it read, “Token of Appreciation” on one side and the other said, “Thank you for everything”.

I was so surprised.  I asked her, “For realsies?” Yes, I said “realsies” and yes, nearby students were laughing at me like, “Did she really say that?” and because I did.  I claimed so.

I gladly accepted it and happily thanked her.  I went and gleefully showed a student, then I went to the front desk, placed it there, where the laptop was and waited for the class to quiet down so I can start the film.  The under-achieving student went and took the token to his friends to see and then returned it a moment later.

Yes, these were the highlights of my day.

Leave a Reply

